Skip to content

Day 15: On this day I remember you. #AToZChallenge

April 17, 2024

Hi readers:

Welcome to day 15 of my April A to Z blog challenge posts. To find out more about the challenge, go here:
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

When you lose someone you love, in time that wound heals. It never fades, because there is an empty place which they have left behind, but in time, we feel the loss less keenly. If you are like me, though, there is one day in the year when the memories of the one you have lost take centre stage in your mind, bringing the pain of that loss with them.

I had one of those days recently. Writing this poem helped.

Here is today’s poem:

On this day I remember you,
And the start of our happiness,
Those brilliant, blissful hours
Painted with bright colours in my mind.

On this day I remember how
Our happiness burst forth, like a song;
A duet that we sang joyfully,
Two melodies entwined.

On this day I remember love
At it’s highest and brightest,
Like fireworks, lighting up the sky,
Like Church bells gladly peeling.

On this day I remember
The 5 years that were ours,
The conversation, the quiet moments
And the laughter that we shared.

On this day I remember
That I found in you
The love, acceptance and completeness

I had searched so long for.

On this day I thank the Lord
For giving us each other
And the time that we had
Which was over far too soon.

On this day I remember
That, though time heals all wounds,
yet the pain of losing a loved one
Never truly fades away.

On this day I remember you
And miss you with such longing …
though years have passed since you departed
to the heavenly home.

song of the day:

How does a moment last forever:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsKKuCUYUMU

Love from,
Rishie and the Virtual Family.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment