Skip to content

Day 24: X’s special day.

April 29, 2024

Hi readers:

Welcome to day 24 of my April A to Z blog challenge posts. To find out more about the challenge, go here:
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

This should have been posted on Saturday … but it wasn’t. I had it written and prepared, but the niggling headache I had became a really bad one and it’s still going strong. I get migraines. Ouch! Thankfully, I have this poem and the one for today all done, the one for Z might be a day or two late, I don’t have anything prepared and I probably won’t until this headache gets better.

I’ve got to warn you. This poem is very silly! The idea for it came to me in the middle of the night and demanded I write it out … so here it is.

Here is today’s poem:

Since I decided to do this challenge,
[A few days before it started],
I have been lining up the letters
Of the alphabet in my head.

Most of these letters, from A to Z
Have fallen fairly neatly into place
As I wrote new things or found old ones
To prepare for each day’s post.

But the letter X stood alone,

Staring accusingly at me,
As if wondering what I planned to do
When it’s day came to shine.

I cobbled something together last night
That wasn’t really great,
But wasn’t half bad either,
So I thought it would be enough.

But this morning, that letter appeared
In the forefront of my mind
And asked if that poem was the best I could do
For it’s special day.

But X is such a difficult letter!
I looked through words that start with it,
But none of them really caught my attention
Or started words flowing in my head.

And other bloggers who do the challenge
Find this letter … well … challenging.
I enjoy reading the things they have written
For this third from last day of it all.

So X, this very silly poem
Written in the middle of the night
Is dedicated to you
And how you’ve stretched my creative muscles.

And now, oh woe is me,
Now that X is finally sorted,
The letter z steps forward to say
"You’ve forgotten me, haven’t you"?

Yikes! One more poem to write,
When I thought I was all but done.
It’s time to look through some more word lists in hope
Of finding  something for the final day.

Song of the day:
I went looking to see if I could find a song about the letter X and I liked this one best.

ABC Song: The Letter X, "Extraordinary X"
  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZPms5-6PfA

Love from,
Rishie and the Virtual Family.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment