Skip to content

Day 16: a Puppy’s wish. #AToZChallenge

April 18, 2024

Hi readers:

Welcome to day 16 of my April A to Z blog challenge posts. To find out more about the challenge, go here:
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

I had trouble getting this one out today. The poem had been written, but the last stanza wasn’t right, it didn’t pop. I re-wrote it several times and this is about as good as it’s going to get.

Today’s poem is linked with the poem I wrote for day 12. Because it’s been a few days since then, here’s the blurb:

These are children’s poems about  a little girl and her puppy. I’d love to  write it out as a story, but I’m not so great writing stories and anyway it’s probably been done before.

Here’s the scene. The little girl is talking to her puppy, wondering what it might be like if she became a puppy too. The puppy has similar thoughts, wondering what it might be like to be human, though of course, she can’t talk to her human friend about it. After thinking it through for a while, each of them decides that things are probably better off as they are. The moral of the story is that it’s nice to think about being someone else, but it’s better to be who you are.

This poem is from the puppy’s perspective.

Here is today’s poem:

Oh, what fun it would be,
If I could be a girl,, not a puppy;
With lots of lovely things to wear,
And bows and pretty clips for my hair.

I’d sleep in a nice bed like you,
Though my dog bed is comfy too.
My mum would tuck me in and kiss me,
and maybe read a bedtime story.

I could go to school with you,
And oh, the fun things we could do!
With our friends we could talk and play,
And I could learn new things every day!

When we got home we could play in the yard,
Running on two legs would not be hard.
Then Mum would call us in to eat,
Having dinner with you would be such a treat!

All the yummy human food
Which looks so nice and smells so good!
There’s so much I would like to try
That’s not good for dogs, I don’t know why.

To be a human just like you
Would be a lot of fun, that’s true,
But, lying here upon your knee,
I’m glad to be who I am … your puppy.

song of the day:
I had trouble finding a song that I really liked, then I found this one and I think it’s cute.
Little people puppy song:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNn5wUh557A

Love from,
Rishie and the Virtual Family.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment