Skip to content

Day 10: Just ask for help. #

April 11, 2024

Hi readers:

Welcome to day 10 of my April A to Z blog challenge posts. To find out more about the challenge, go here:
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

yesterday, I mentioned that I have a tendency to do things alone, rather than asking for help when I need it.  I decided to write a poem about that.

Here is today’s poem:

Help was offered
on the day I found out
that I had head lice
in my hair.

"Oh no,"  I said
"I can handle it,"
but I soon found out

That I was wrong.

For, no matter how often
I treat my hair
and patiently, sometimes painfully
Comb through it all,

In these three weeks
My problem has not gone away,
And the help I didn’t need
Is really needed after all.

How often do I do this!
I struggle with something alone
Rather than reaching out to ask
For help when I need it.

It’s partly my timidity,
I don’t like to be a bother,
An inconvenience, in the way,
Or a burden on anyone.

And maybe it’s partly pride
Which keeps me from reaching out,
Pride, that detestable sin
Makes me think I’m self-sufficient.

"Just ask for help,"  sounds so easy
but somehow, it is not.
The very thought of doing it is enough
to raise  my stress level.

But in this case, I really must,
Or I will never be free
Of those rotten little head lice
Invading my head and my life.

So I’m going to bite the bullet
I’ll make a call today,
And see if I can get
Some assistance with my problem.

song of the day:
I love this cover version of the old Beatles song "help",  sung by the Australian singer John farnham.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7Le6RIgh6g&ab_channel=JackWhispers

Love from,
Rishie and the Virtual Family.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment