Skip to content

POEM: THE OBSTINATE SHOWER DOOR

February 22, 2019

Hi readers:

Here’s one I wrote for the writers’ group I attend, the topic was on showers.

It was a hot afternoon and I got home
At a quarter past the hour
And the thought that was uppermost in my mind
"I need a nice cool shower!"

I got myself ready and got into the shower
As quick as I possibly could be,
And let me tell you, that nearly cold water
was very refreshing indeed.

With great reluctance I realised
It was time for me to get out,
And then, alas,  the event occurred,
Which this poem was written about.

I tried to open the shower door
but the darn thing wouldn’t move
And the more I tried to gently persuade it,
The more obstinate did it prove!

This shower door had been temperamental
From the time that we moved in
It wasn’t the first time it refused to move
But the first time I was captured within.

the strangest thoughts flew through my mind
and I prayed "Lord, what will I do?"
I needed to take a small journey
And there really was no time to lose.

Would I be stuck in here all night
since I was alone in the house,
Would someone outside hear me
If I started to scream and shout?

But then I thought, if someone came
and managed to get inside,
They would see me, so I very soon
Put that idea out of my mind.

I was starting to get panicky
so I had to do something, now.
I didn’t care if the door was broken
As long as I could get out.

with a prayer and a push I shoved that door
And one of the pieces moved a bit,
My further efforts were unavailing
and I wondered if I would fit.

So, with a deep breath and another prayer
I began to make my escape
Till the bathroom floor was under my feet
And I celebrated with a loud "Yay!"

But that silly door was broken indeed
and for two days I went shower free,
Till the handyman from Life Choices
Came one morning to fix it for me.

In just a few minutes he had that door
Moving smoothly on it’s tracks
And I was very, sincerely relieved
To have my shower back.

It’s still a bit temperamental,
and it’s my fervent prayer
That it will not become obstinate
While I am stuck in there!

Blessings and much love,

Rishie

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment