Skip to content

First Therapy Session.

May 9, 2024

Hi Readers:

I had my first therapy session today, my first one since 1997, whew!

We chatted via their live chat feature, which was a bit laggy but it was easy enough to work with. sometimes there were gaps of a minute or more, and I wondered if I was supposed to just keep writing stuff or if I should wait for her next question, but it was just because of their software. We can chat through the week via their messaging system which actually seems to work a bit better than the live chat feature.

It was basically a getting-to-know-you session, but I found Barbara easy to talk to and I found myself relaxing. I think next week, I won’t be so worried, since today’s went so well.

  I had been sooooooo nervous about today’s session, stressing over it, but it went a lot better than I anticipated. God gave me a scripture which really helped me:

Isaiah 41:13
  For I, the Lord your God,
hold your right hand;
it is I who say to you, "Fear not,
I am the one who helps you."

Baby Catherine has been lying nearby in case I needed the comfort of holding her, but I didn’t need her today.  She will be nearby during future sessions, especially when Barbara and I start working through some of my issues. When I get stressed or anxious, it is good to have something or someone to hold onto,, and Catherine is always here. Even if she’s a doll, she is comforting to hold.

Part of the stress was because I find it hard to talk to new people, to know what to say. Making conversation is difficult for me at the best of times. I’m surprised how easy it was today. We didn’t talk about much, but still, it was good.

Now, since I have had a good and productive morning with writers group and therapy, I think it’s time to get some more sleep. It’s 4:18 am over here. Yawn!

Song of the day:
I couldn’t think of a song that fitted this post, so I chose a song about sleep instead.

Stay awake:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHs9RvKrIZc

Love from,

Rishie, Catherine  and the rest of the Virtual Family.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment