Skip to content

Day 18: Rotten bad mood. #AToZChallenge

April 22, 2024

Hi readers:

Welcome to day 18 of my April A to Z blog challenge posts. To find out more about the challenge, go here:
http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com

I realised I hadn’t posted the poem for day 18 yet. It should have been posted on Saturday and now it is very early Monday morning. That poem has been sitting here waiting for me to post it. It is looking at me reproachfully, asking, "how could you forget about meeee?"

So I’m going to make it happy and post it now. I’ll post today’s poem, the one for day 19, this afternoon.

Getting serious now, enough of my silly middle-of-the-night mood. Talking of moods, since I’ve had my change of life, I’ve found that I am more moody than I used to be.

The day I wrote this poem, a couple of weeks ago, I was what I call "down in the grumps". It’s a combination of depression and grumpiness which really isn’t any fun and is very hard to shift. I was in a similar mood on Saturday, though it was 85% depression and 15% grumps.

Thankfully, I found a way of lifting that kind of mood, and that is what I wrote about in this poem.

Here is today’s poem:

I was in a rotten mood
Just the other day;
It was there when I woke up
And it wouldn’t go away.

I was in a call with a group of friends
Which I enjoy usually,
I didn’t want to share my rotten bad mood,
So I kept it all inside me.

I heard the very best news
That I could want to hear,
But even this happiness did not make
the bad mood disappear.

I told God, "I feel miserable,
"I don’t know what to do!
"I can’t shift this by myself,
"I need some help from you".

And then, after time had passed,
My friend turned some music on:
Some good old country gospel music,
And soon we were singing along.

And strangely, surprisingly,
My grey skies began to clear,
And as the music kept on playing,
My  rotten mood disappeared.

We sang "softly and tenderly",
and "One day at a time",
Just a little talk with Jesus",
And I was feeling fine.

music is a good mood lifter,
But songs about the Lord
Remind me of his love for me
And my hope and peace are restored.

song of the day:
Just a little talk with Jesus:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNeECbSdOkg

Love from,
Rishie and the Virtual Family.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment